Paleo Zucchini Fritters

People often confuse baking with cooking. They assume that since I enjoy baking that I must be an excellent cook as well. Unfortunately, that couldn’t be further from the truth.

Whereas I can whip up a tray of cookies or a cake with ease, I’m more or less a stranger when it comes to the stove. During the summer, when I’m left to my own devices in the food department, I resort to avocado toast, bagged salad, Kraft Macaroni & Cheese, and, well… cookies. Not the healthiest lifestyle, but someone’s gotta live it.

Today I decided to shape up my eating habits by challenging myself to make Stupid Easy Paleo’s Paleo Zucchini Fritters. The Paleo (derived from the word Paleolithic) Diet, also known the Caveman Diet, is a diet where you primarily eat lean meat, fruits, vegetables, and nuts. No dairy, trans fat, processed foods, or anything our early ancestors wouldn’t have access to!

Again, I halved the recipe, as I only had one zucchini. Look how pretty it is!

DSC_0039I love zucchinis. Not only are they beautiful to look at, but they are also tasty and healthy. It’s like the whole shebang! The first step is to shred the zucchini, and to all those of you who have a food processor, know that I am jealous. Unfortunately, I had to resort to manual labor and use my grater, but it was surprisingly easy! Unlike carrots, those take forever to grate. But that’s another story. After grating, I had a nice little mountain of shredded zucchini!

DSC_0040Add a teaspoon of salt and then wait ten minutes. When I returned ten minutes later, I was shocked by how much water had come out of the shredded zucchini. I suspect it had something to do with the added salt altering equilibrium and the water from the zucchini moving out via osmosis. I love observing science in my kitchen.

Now you have to make sure to squeeze as much water out of the zucchinis as possible. Just grab a fistful and SQUEEZE as hard as you can. I tossed them around a sifter just to make sure it was dry. Next, it’s time to add the seasoning! I didn’t have coconut flour so I replaced it with whole wheat flour. I’m not sure if that exempts it from being “Paleo,” but at least whole wheat flour is still healthy, right? I also lacked cayenne pepper, so I used paprika instead And added a few sprinkles of garlic powder. If you’re halving the recipe like me, make sure only to use half the egg! Put the other half into the fridge and make scrambled eggs or something.

Once you’ve mixed all the ingredients together, it’s time to face the fire! I have a confession to make: I hate the stovetop. Ever since I tried making fried rice a few years back and dropped a pan full of hot oil, I’ve kept my distance from the stove. Don’t worry, I wasn’t hurt, but sometimes emotional scars last longer than physical ones.

My fear of the stovetop may actually be a metonymy for my fear of popping oil. Every pop! goes straight through my spinal cord and makes me jump, but today, I didn’t face that problem. I’m not sure if it was because I was using coconut oil instead of olive oil (if so, another plus for coconut oil!), but it was a welcome change. Instead, the oil bubbled nicely, like it’s supposed to. Look at those ripples.

DSC_0046

DSC_0047Another reason I fail at cooking is because of inability to flip things. Perhaps I have the worst spatula in the world or maybe the worst hand-eye coordination in the world, but I always mess up flipping food. It’s hard, having to beat the clock as the bottom browns and trying not to make a mess of the moist top, and I often end up with something scrambled. Today, I had a little trouble, but luckily, my fritters stayed in one (messy) piece!

DSC_0051

While they may not be the prettiest things, they were actually really good! They smelled sweet like the coconut oil, and they had a delightful little kick from the paprika. I’ll admit, they’re a little oily, but if you’re using coconut oil, it’s still super healthy! I would definitely recommend making these Zucchini Fritters if you have the time. They’re quite easy to make and very filling. Make sure to check out the recipe at  Stupid Easy Paleo!

Subscribe to stay tuned for future posts. I may take a short break from the cooking/baking front to recap my Europe trip from last month, so look forward to traveling with me through London, Prague, and Paris! Ciao for now!

Leave a Reply

