Birthday Cupcakes

Hello all! It’s been awhile, hasn’t it? However, I’ve returned from my three-month-long hiatus with an exciting post, for yesterday was one of my best friend’s eighteenth birthday! To celebrate, I decided to make Celebrating Sweets’ Small Batch Vanilla Cupcakes. The recipe makes five cupcakes, which is a perfect number to gift to a friend or just enjoy yourself!

Despite the relatively simple and quick recipe, I did run into a few problems: mainly, I forgot to add the milk. Oops. I realized my mistake once the pan was already in the oven, so I hurriedly tried to salvage it as much as I could, taking it out and scooping the admittedly thick batter back into my mixing bowl. Lacking whole milk, I substituted for soy milk, which made the batter a bit more viscous than appropriate, then hoped for the best.

Unsurprisingly, the cupcakes were quite flat and dense, but they were far from the disaster they could’ve been. *whew*

DSC_0996
Hey, it’s what’s on the inside that counts.

Luckily, I had some cream cheese frosting on hand to cover the questionable appearance of the cupcakes. Since most of the cupcakes did not rise above the paper liner, frosting with a knife/spatula would be difficult, so I scooped some frosting into a plastic bag and snipped a corner. Voila! Instant piping bag!

DSC_1000
My piping skills are improving, if I do say so myself.

Of course, what’s a birthday without sprinkles? I opted for a light dusting red sugar sprinkles this time, and they were absolutely darling on the white frosting.

DSC_1003
The finished product!

I was worried the cupcakes wouldn’t taste that good with the whole milk fiasco, but my friend really enjoyed them. Although they were a bit dense, they still bested box-mix cupcakes. Plus, they were so easy! I really enjoy small batches of desserts, because large batches are impossible to finish without company and often go to waste. This recipe is perfect for a sweet personal treat!

Finally, I hope you all wish Lucy a fabulous eighteenth birthday! She’s one of the sweetest & smartest people I’ve had the pleasure to meet, and she shares my love for baking as well! You can check out her blog at Farts & Crafts. Happy birthday Lucy! You’re finally an adult!

I’d like to end this blog post with a few notes on the direction of Serendipity Bakes. I know it’s been a while since I’ve updated, and while I’ve been busy with school, college apps, and other writing endeavors, I’ve been admittedly reluctant to update this blog because I’m not pleased with my voice in these posts. Rereading my old blog posts, I noticed that my voice has been overwhelmingly positive and saccharine sweet, which, while nice, may not be necessarily genuine. Everything is beautiful! or delicious! or comparable to a warm bath! While I am a very optimistic person who uses far too many exclamation points, I want to stray from false positivity. Therefore, from here on out, not every recipe is going to be gorgeous! or yummy! I’ll be speaking the truth, whether it’s favorable or not. I hope that, with this change, I’ll be more inclined to update regularly, provide an unbiased opinion on matters, and connect with readers.

Thanks so much for reading, and keep your eyes peeled for many more baking adventures!

Leave a Reply

